Tag Archives: San Pablo City



December 12, 2015 — Farmers and Fisherfolks from the Municipality of Tagkawayan went on a study tour at Ato Belen’s Farm. They were particularly interested in organic agriculture as a means to mitigate the effects of climate change. The activity was organized by the Office of the Municipal Agriculturist of Tagkawayan, Quezon.

MORE PHOTOS ARE AVAILABLE AT OUR FACEBOOK PAGE:   https://www.facebook.com/atobelensfarm


(photo not available)

The durian is really adapted to many parts of Luzon. One proof is this two-year-old durian tree in the farm of Renato Belen which is already fruiting. Encouraged by this good stand, Belen has planted some three hundred grafted trees in one of his farms intercropped with rambutan. Belen grows the Munthong and the Chanee varieties from Thailand. In photo is Belen’s son Elmer.


Written by Zac B. Sarian

Source: Manila Bulletin

Agricultural Bulletin Section (Agri Plain Talk)

Date Published : August 13, 1998


Mayor Vicente Amante with City Administrator Loreto Amante and Renato Belen

Mr. Renato Belen was named one of the “Ten Outstanding San Pableños” as part of this years’ commemoration of the 68th Founding Anniversary of the City of San Pablo. He was given recognition for his remarkable achievements, as well as significant contribution and laudable services in the field of Agriculture. The ceremony was held at the Coco Palace Hotel and Restaurant at Barangay San Francisco last May 6, 2008.

Other awardees were Dean Palermo A. Bañagale for Accountancy; CHED Regional Director Amelita A. Biglete for Education; Supreme Court Justice Arturo D. Brion for Government Service; Court of Appeal Justice Rodrigo V. Cosico for Law and Judiciary; Olympic Swimmer Marie-Lizza Toinette Frias Danila for Sports; SPC Chamber of Commerce and Industry President Plaridel G. dela Cruz for Business; Association of Geodetic Engineers of the Philippines President Danilo D. Dichoso for Engineering; Nobel Laureate Rodel D. Lasco for Science and Technology, and Music Professor Ester Alcantara-Locson for Arts and Culture. ■

You can read more about the other awardees by visiting this site.


(photos courtesy of Balitang Pabloy  and Ms. Lerma Prudente)